Official News

Offical News Site News Reviews Interviews

Not Music

Stereolab are still on hiatus, but they're coming out with a new 13-track album anyway.

Over the Summer of 2007 Stereolab reconvened at Instant Zero, their studio in Bordeaux, to record 32 luminous new songs which would become two distinct albums - 2008's 'Chemical Chords' and their new release, 'Not Music'.

The recordings began when Tim Gane started messing with "a series of about seventy tiny drum loops" on top of improvised chord sequences using piano and vibraphone. "Building them up from there - later slowing the tracks down or speeding them up - a totally new way of doing songs for us…"

'Not Music' is Stereolab's twelfth album and is released during the band's self-imposed hiatus from recording and touring. It's out November 16th 2010 on CD, MP3 and limited edition vinyl via Drag City and the band's own Duophonic UHF Disks imprint.

01 Everybody's Weird Except Me
02 Supha Jaianto
03 So Is Cardboard Clouds
04 Equivalences
05 Lelekato Sugar
06 Silver Sands (The Emperor Machine Mix)
07 Two Finger Symphony
08 Delugeoisie
09 Laserblast
10 Sun Demon
11 Aelita
12 Pop Molecules (Molecular Pop 2)
13 Neon Beanbag (Atlas Sound Mix)

[Sources: Drag City PR, Pitchfork Media News item, Martin via the official site forum]

Posted on 2010-08-17